Traffic Signs

So my hope with this site was to document different ideas I use in my classroom and my thoughts.  But I get busy and now it really been months since I’ve updated.  And to add to all my things I’m starting a Master program in Early Childhood Education in the fall.  But I want to keep this up so I’m going to try and make this a weekly post about the different activities we do in my classroom.  I’ll probably continue some other post as well and as I start my grad program I hope to update it with thoughts I have from there.  So here’s my first post about Traffic Signs week.

We have a concrete area for the kids to ride their bicycles.  The rule of the area is the kids all have to ride their bikes in the same direction to keep things safe.  Every time a new kid starts the class we have to draw arrows on the concrete to help them know which direction to go.  Recently one of the students didn’t understand what the arrow meant so my co-teacher and I decided to do a unit on traffic signs.

IMG_2186

We started with stop signs.  I normally try to stay away from print outs.  But it was Monday morning and most ideas I found were to complicated for 2 years old.  The kids painted with fingertip sponges.

IMG_2185 IMG_2184

We worked on our arrows by creating one way signs.  I cut out arrows and the kids drew on them with white crayons to make their own signs.  I then pointed the arrows in different directions and they had to say which way to go.  The bike area has had better flow this week.

IMG_2183

We also made traffic lights.  To add another element to the project we gave them red, green and yellow sticker and had them match it to the correct colors. We discussed the order of the colors.  We also sing the traffic light song in my class a lot:

Twinkle Twinkle Traffic Light (tune:twinkle twinkle little star)

Twinkle Twinkly TrafficLight

Standing On the Corner Bright

Red Means Stop, Green Means Go, Yellow means go but very very slow

Twinkle Twinkly TrafficLight

Standing On the Corner Bright

IMG_2221

We took a walk to the corner and watched the traffic lights change color.  There we saw Walk/Don’t Walk Signs.  We turned it into a class friendly project by making Don’t Walk the stop hand and used feet to resemble Walk.

We took several of our signs out to the playground so the students could follow them while riding their bikes.  Plus now my students know how to follow arrows.

 

This entry was posted in Art, Education, Twos and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

