Book Review: Lunar New Year

Books and stories are an integral part of my classroom.  There are numerous reason why it’s important to read to young children but the purpose of reading these stories was to introduce my students to an event which one of my families want to share with us.

firecraker

Lanterns and Firecrackers: A Chinese New Year Story by Johnny Zucker and Jan Barger Cohen

Lanterns and Firecrackers is part of a series of stories called Festival Time!  The story uses easy to understand language to bring the basic concept of Chinese New Year.  The drawings are very pretty and soft.  However my students didn’t care to read this more than twice as I feel they enjoyed the second story better.

gracelin

Bringing In The Year by Grace Lin

The thing that grabbed me first about this book was how color and bright the cover is.  The colors and art through out the story remind of being in several Chinatowns.   I am happy the characters have traditional Chinese names.  At the end of the story there is a fold out page that has a long dragon on it.  My student sat in anticipation for when we would get to dragon page.   In fact they would start shouting out “dragon” before I could read the words of the story.  This is a story I will bring into my classroom next year.

This entry was posted in Book Review and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

